Outstanding Alumnus/Alumna Award

This award recognizes an alumnus or alumna who shows uncommon excellence in his or her health care career and in his or her service to their community and to the Department. Selection criteria include professional accomplishments, departmental involvement, and community involvement.

Year Recipient
2016 Sheryl Garland (MHA '88)
2015 Art Layne (MHA '76)
2014 Carrie Owen Plietz (MHA '00)
2013 Patrick W. Farrell (MHA '91)
2012 Jess Judy (MHA '77)
2011 Tracy Kemp Stallings (MSHA '95)
2010 Karen Cameron (MHA '87)
2009 Jeff Dorsey (MHA '73)
2008 Timothy Stack (MHA '77)
2007 David Bernd (MHA '73)
2007 Howard Kern (MHA '81)
2006 Jonathan Perlin, MD, PhD (MSHA '97)
2006 Marilyn Tavenner (MHA '89)
2004 Jerry Brink (MHA '96)
2003 Sister Pat Eck (MHA '81)
2002 Richard Bracken (MHA '77)


Lifetime Service Award

This award was established in 2009 by the Department’s Alumni/ae Association. With this award, the Alumni/ae Association recognizes an alumnus or alumna for his or her lifetime of strong dedication and contribution to to the Department, its faculty and students.

Year Recipient
2016 David Bernd (MHA '73)
2015 Marilyn Tavenner (MHA '89)
2014 Richard Bracken (MHA '77)
2012 Jeff Dorsey (MHA '73)
2010 Edward Smith, Jr. (MHA '64)
2009 Paul Gross (MHA '64)


Young Professional Award

This award acknowledges an alumnus or alumna who exemplifies the Department’s core values early in his or her career in service to his or her community and professional organization.  Selection criteria include professional accomplishment, advancement, and/or innovation in the field of health administration.


Year Recipient
2016 Tiffany Wasiuk (MSHA '14)
2015 Brent Rawlings (MHA/JD '04)
2014 William Haugh‌ (MHA '08)
2013 Faraaz Yousuf (MHA '02)